add to wish list | library

17 of 20 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Audio Fidelity -
  AFZ 178
  Legends crank it up!
  Various artists
Track listing:
  1. Chicago - Does Anybody Really Know
2. The Doobie Brothers - Listen To The Music
3. The Rascals - Good Lovin'
4. Rod Stewart - Tonight's The Night
5. Jackson Browne - Running On Empty
6. Phil Collins - In The Air Tonight
7. The Zombies - Time Of The Season
8. Ace - How Long
9. Little Feat - Dixie Chicken
10. Grateful Dead - Truckin'
11. Stephen Stills - Love The One You're With
12. Buffalo Springfield - For What It's Worth
13. America - Sister Golden Hair
14. The Pretenders - Back On The Chain Gang
15. Foreigner - Feels Like The First Time
16. Elton John - Daniel
17. The Moody Blues - Nights In White Satin
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Submitted by MacClaus
Related titles: 1

Legends get it on!      

Reviews: 2

Review by tdunster December 6, 2014 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Well worth the price of admission as far as compilation discs go. I'd say that in the grand scheme of things this ones of better than average sound quality.

Agree with Analogues assessment of Nights in White Satin - but the rest of the disc I was very impressed by. Back on the Chain Gang, Feels Like the First Time, Tonight's the Night, listen to the music and others being perhaps the best mastered recording of these tracks I can recall.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by analogue December 5, 2014 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
An interesting sacd releases of classic rock cuts from the past. Time has not been kind to some of these tracks altho7gh a good portion of the songs still have merit and have passed the test of time.

As to the tape sources here........its time life after all so I cant guarantee the authenticity of said tape source.

The sound on this sacd is not as good as the other sacd work Steve Hoffman is doing. This is not a mastering error.......rather the tape source. No matter how many times I hear this disc it simply cant compete with any of the recent Audio Fidelity sacd's I bought. That's not to say this sacd sounds horrible in any way. It doesn't. It just sounds rather plain and somewhat bland. Not much air or even tape hiss. There are no revelations or ah ha moments that made me think I was hearing something new. I never felt I was in the studio.

I had never heard the intro to the Chicago track before but the first track is decent enough. While the title of this sacd is crank it up..........and it must be............this doesn't make the sound any more impressive........just average. In the air of the might has some impressive bombastic drum work near the end of the track. Running on empty is fine but doesn't sound much better than the first cd version I own. However Ace's hOW LONG sounds really good here. Still an excellent listen after 40 years.

Daniel, Sister golden hair and for what's its worth are again.......decent sounding but no astounding moments to be had.

The worse stinker is the classic Nights in white satin which uses an alternate version that sounds like it was recorded in a gloomy cave. Simply dreadful.

Lightly recommended with some reservations. Not bad sound at all but also not great sound either.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no