add to wish list | library

12 of 12 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
Note: The high resolution content is Blu-ray Audio only.
  Elton John: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  Elton John
Track listing:
  1. Funeral For A Friend (Love Lies Bleeding),
2. Candle In The Wind,
3. Bennie And The Jets,
4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road,
5. This Song Has No Title,
6. Grey Seal,
7. Jamaica Jerk-Off,
8. I've Seen That Movie Too,
9. Sweet Painted Lady,
10. The Ballad Of Danny Bailey (1909-1934),
11. Dirty Little Girl
12. All The Girls Love Alice,
13. Your Sister Can't Twist (But She Can Rock 'n Roll),
14. Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting,
15. Roy Rogers,
16. Social Disease,
17. Harmony
Recording type:
Recording info:
  2.0 Dolby TrueHD 24bit/96kHz
2.0 DTS HD MA 24bit/96kHz
2.0 LPCM 24bit/96kHz
5.1 DTS HD MA 24bit/96kHz

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Submitted by fredblue
Related titles: 5

Reviews: 3

Review by fredblue April 3, 2014 (10 of 12 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
With a great new 2014 Stereo remaster by Bob Ludwig and a revised 5.1 Surround mix, where the rear channels are slightly lowered in level (criticism 10 years ago the rears on the SACD/DVD-A were overloud) and a less bright and forward sounding remix than before, it seems many of the problems people had with the SACD and DVD-A have been addressed here on this Blu-ray.

Very Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Marc - SoundMatters April 21, 2014 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This is a review of the Blu-Ray edition of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (GYBR), heard through an audio system comprised of a Denon 7.1 surround receiver, PSB Synchrony One 7-speaker system, and 2013 Oppo disc player. Comparison was made between the 1983 2-disc CD, the PCM stereo version on this new Blu-Ray disc, and the 5.1 version on this new Blu-Ray disc.

I received this new Blu-Ray version of GYBR last week, after having been disappointed with the sound quality from the 1983 2-disc CD set, and after seeing negative reviews of the SACD and DVD-Audio 5.1 channel discs from previous years. After listening to the PCM stereo version and the 5.1 surround version(both from this Blu-Ray), here are my impressions:

1) The Blu-Ray's PCM stereo version sounded OK-but-not-great, until Elton John's vocals began in "Love Lies Bleeding", where a problem emerged: The mix is wrong for his vocal track, as it is far too quiet, compared to the instruments. This was apparent in other songs, as well. The other stereo layers on this Blu-Ray disc may sound much better than the PCM stereo layer, but I have not yet listened to those layers.

2) The Blu-Ray's 5.1 version did not have the problem mentioned above in point #1 - Elton John's vocal track sounded much better on "Love Lies Bleeding" in this version. On a minor point, his voice sounded slightly distorted on "Bennie and the Jets", but it was not a significant problem. I did not notice any other negative issues with the 5.1 version, on this Blu-Ray disc.

3) This Blu-Ray 5.1 version sounded much better than previous versions of GYBR that I have heard over the years. The sound quality is spacious, clean, and without significantly noticeable compression. This is the way that I had always hoped that GYBR would sound.

Bottom line opinion: The Blu-Ray 5.1 version of GYBR is the definitive version of this essential album, it is superb, and it is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Audio Ed May 27, 2014 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I was hesitant to pick this Blu-ray up due to the review of that spoke about the vocal being mixed improperly and my history with other popular Audio Only Blu-ray discs. I was expecting to have issues with the mix and the sound quality but since it was relatively inexpensive and there were some positive reviews I gave it a try. I am so glad that I did. I listen in stereo so I can only speak to the 2.0 mix and I listened to the PCM version but this is clearly better than the previous SACD released in the US. I waited with baited breath for the opening vocals and was very pleased with their presence in relation to the instruments. The drums and percussion sound crisp and I heard some edges on the synths that I have never heard before. Overall, this was very enjoyable and highly recommended. I wish all re-releases would be as good as this one.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no