add to wish list | library

50 of 50 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Rounder -
  ROUN0515 (2 discs)
  Alison Krauss: Live

Alison Krauss
Union Station
Track listing:
  Disc 1:
1. Let Me Touch You For Awhile
2. Choctaw Hayride
3. The Lucky One
4. Baby, Now That I've Found You
5. Bright Sunny South
6. Every Time You Say Goodbye
7. Tiny Broken Heart
8. Cluck Old Hen
9. Stay
10. Broadway
11. Ghost in This House
12. Forget About It
13. Faraway Land

Disc 2:
1. A Tribute to Peador O'Donnell/Monkey Let the Hogs Out
2. The Boy Who Wouldn't Hoe Corn
3. Take Me For Longing
4. I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow
5. Maybe
6. We Hide & Seek
7. But You Know I Love You
8. When You Say Nothing At All
9. New Favorite
10. Oh, Atlanta
11. Down to the River to Pray
12. There Is A Reason
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 3

Reviews: 7 show all

Review by Mahugh May 28, 2004 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I am giving this SACD 5 stars on the performance because of the musicians. These musicians are exceptional. They are crisp, clear, and well balanced. They know, too, how to make an instrument sing with the song. For those people that play instruments, you know what I'm talking about. There are those who are technical wonders and then there are those who may not be technical masters, but know how to make the music come to life through the instrument. These people have that gift and it is a true pleasure to hear it.

The vocals are pretty good. I read one review that mentioned a thin Alison voice, but I don't have that same feel. I just believe that it is natural for her. She does have one awesome voice that fits very well with the instruments. The other members of the Union Station band that sing are pretty good as well. Still, the instrumentation steals the show for me.

The only reason I am giving it a four star on recording is because there is no music in the center channel. I would have appreciated some music from here to create the stage since this is a live performance. Most people have a reasonable spread between their from speakers (as I do) and the gap is missed when you sit down to listen to the album. Besides the lack of the center channel, I can not find any real flaws in the recording.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Dan Popp October 23, 2003 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Sounds great, great performance as usual by AK+US. The only quibble I have is that they mic Alison's voice to sound "thin," but this is the case on most of her recordings, not just this one. They could easily use a mic that would give her voice some more beefiness or heft, but "whatever." Anticipating repeated listenings of this disc, I could do without some of the chat between songs, but there's actually very little of that.

When you buy this double album you're getting sort of a "Greatest Hits" package plus some tunes from "O Brother Where Art Thou" in case you need just one more version of "I Am A Man of Constant Sorrow." Glad I have it in my collection. And the original recording is DSD, so you're hearing the master recording. Cool.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by vwnut July 14, 2003 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I have both SACD and CD version of this recording. The CD version is very well recorded and there is very little benifit, other than audience noises in surround speakers, with the SACD version. In fact, on a good CD player the cd version sounds warmer.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no