add to wish list | library

1 of 2 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Groove Note -
  GRV 1045-3
  True Audiophile - The Best of Groove Note Vol. 2
  "True Audiophile - The Best of Groove Note Vol. 2"

Various Artists
Track listing:
  1. In the Wee Small Hours - Jacintha
2. I'll Never Smile Again - Bennie Wallace
3. I Got a Break Baby - Roy Gaines
4. O Pato - Eden Atwood
5. Blue Bayou - Lauren White
6. Chitlins Con Carne - Anthony Wilson
7. On Days Like These - Jacintha
8. Feeling Good - Luqman Hamza
9. Looking Back - Anthony Wilson
10. Lonely Boy Blues - Jay McShann
11. The Thrill Is Gone - Jacintha
12. Serenata - Eden Atwood
13. The Way You Look Tonight - Bill Cunliffe
14. Mack The Knife - Lauren White
15. Make It Good - Anthony Wilson
16. Here's To Life - Jacintha
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 1

Reviews: 1

Review by CA 94542 Native June 24, 2010 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Load this disc and your multi-channel player will indicate two tracks. Two? Yes, tracks 4 and 11 are the only multi-channel tracks on the album. You must manually set your player to stereo to hear the entire album. Only disc I have with such a requirement. Otherwise, impressive sonics and the studio musicians perform well, making up for the shortcomings of some of the vocalists.

This is a sampler; Jacintha has four tracks, Anthony Wilson, three; Lauren White, two; and six other artists. A couple of blues tracks, a genre I don’t listen to, so I won’t discuss them. White has two tracks: “Blue Bayou” has this loud, annoying percussion sound (like someone’s tapping an empty box) that’s out of proportion to the rest of the performers; and “Mack the Knife,” which will have you reaching for the skip button after one phrase. White’s voice seems to have trouble reaching the upper registers, but maybe that’s her “style.” Mercifully there’s just one track from Luqman Hamza, a talented vocalist with a long history of performing, but nevertheless a voice that’s just a shade too odd for mainstream. Only one track each from Eden Atwood and tenor saxophonist Bennie Wallace; a vocal contribution by the overrated Diana Krall highlights one of Wilson’s very good contributions; leaving four numbers by Jacintha. I find her boring, her whispering sultriness trite. She and White only get two stars for performance. On balance, though, a solid four stars.

Samplers are educational, showcasing a number of the label’s artists and a much better way to sample music than the 29-second bits on the web. For example, while they sound okay for half a minute, I now know positively that I don’t need Jacintha or Lauren White in my library.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no