add to wish list | library

7 of 7 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Audio Fidelity -
  AFZ 020
  Jimmy Reed: At Carnegie Hall
  "Jimmy Reed at Carnegie Hall"

Jimmy Reed
Track listing:
  1. Bright Lights Big City
2. Iím Mr. Luck
3. Whatís Wrong, Baby
4. Found Joy
5. Kind Of Lonesome
6. Aw Shucks, Hush Your Mouth
7. Tell Me You Love Me
8. Blue Carnegie
9. Iím A Love You
10. Hold Me Close
11. Blue Blue Water
12. Baby What You Want Me To Do
13. You Don't Have To Go
14. Hush-Hush
15. Found Love
16. Honest I Do
17. You Got Me Dizzy
18. Big Boss Man
19. Take Out Some Insurance
20. Boogie In The Dark
21. Going To New York
22. Ainít That Loviní You, Baby
23. The Sun Is Shining
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Reviews: 2

Review by analogue June 22, 2010 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This sacd has very excellent sound. It appears to be a complilation of two different albums. Ohhhh.............and despite what the title might is not live.
In addition..I have also read somewhere that the channels are actually reversed on this sacd but I cant confirm this as I have no other previous incarnation of this title to do so.

The good and the bad lowdown:


Excellent transfer from a superb and moody blues singer. While it really is the blues there is also a sort of playfulness here that makes the music enjoyable.You never feel down and out listening to this.
The sound is truly wonderful with good bass and snappy drums. Reed;s voice is fantastically rendered.


After a little while all the songs start to sound the same. There are over twenty short tracks on this sacd but it gets bothersome after a while.

highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by sgb May 13, 2004
Performance:   Sonics:
Kudos to Steve Hoffman for this stunningly good reissue. Unlike the previous Mobile Fidelity reissue (UDCD 566) on CD, Hoffman has gone back to the original session tapes and replaced the electronically rechanneld from mono to stereo tracks with their original mono ones; the tracks that were previously available in true stereo remain so. The results are impressive, as is the fine blues music-making on the disk. A first-rate effort in every regard.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no