add to wish list | library

3 of 3 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Saidera -
  SD-1003-4H (2 discs)
  Seigen Ono: Forest and Beach
  "Forest and Beach"

Seigen Ono
Track listing:
  Disc 1:

CD-compatibe Layer:
1 Vida Boa
2 Bar del Mattatoio
3. Covenant of the Rainbow
4 I Do Love You a Little
5 Suzuki-Sensei-Sansei
6 Gol de Placa
7 I Am a Good Fish
8 Nick & Kiriko
9 Reached Moon Tower
10 Fernando de Noronha
11 Monica Tornera Domenica Sera
12 I've never been to Genova
13 It's So Far to Go

1 Bar del Mattatoio
2 I Am a Good Fish
3 Monica Tornera Domenica Sera
4 Suzuki-Sensei-Sansei
5 Fernando de Noronha
6 I Do Love You a Little
7 Gol de Placa
8 Reached Moon Tower
9 Nick & Kiriko
10 I've never been to Genova
11 It's So Far to Go
12 Covenant of the Rainbow
13 Vida Boa

1. Dijon

Disc 2:

CD compatible Layer/Stereo:
1 Bar del Mattatoio
2 Something to Hold On To
3 I Do Love You a Little
4 Malu
5 Vida Boa
6 Nick & Kiriko
7 Enishie
8 It's Denise
9 I Am a Good Fish
10 The Green Chinese Table
11 Julia

1. Nice, Sanremo and Rio de Jeneiro
  New Age
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 6 show all

Reviews: 1

Review by konoyaro June 10, 2011 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I recently found out that Acoustic Sounds is having an ongoing SACD sale and while browsing through the titles, I noticed that the title Forest and Beach was available on sale for a *very* reasonable price (listed in Japan for ¥4725 but is in fact OOP).

This is a two disc hybrid SACD set with a very unusual structure. The surround layer of each disc is basically an "environmental" disc one with birds in a forest and the other of beach goers at the beach. Both surround layers are DSD recordings (Genex GX-8500).

The stereo SACD and redbook layers feature Seigen Ono and musicians in studio (Forest) and live (Beach) recordings. The musicians include Marc Ribot, John Zorn, Arto Lindsay, Alexander Balanescu, Jun Miyake, etc.

If you appreciate brazilian tinged, world meets jazz music and environmental sounds. I recommend picking this one up before it's gone for good.

There is also an interesting review here

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no