add to wish list | library

5 of 7 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Echo -
  Feeder: Comfort in Sound
  "Comfort in Sound"

Track listing:
  1. Just The Way Iím Feeling
2. Come Back Around
3. Helium
4. Child In You
5. Comfort In Sound
6. Forget About Tomorrow
7. Summers Gone
8. Godzilla
9. Quick Fade
10. Find The Colour
11. Love Pollution
12. Moonshine
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Reviews: 1

Review by mandel February 21, 2005 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This is one of the first SACDs I bought and I still love it. Feeder did this album not long after their drummers suicide, as you might expect this leads to a deeper more introspective feel than their previous material. However they have produced an album more about lifting yourself out of sadness than wallowing in it. The result is a relaxing joy to listen to, the title 'Comfort In Sound' fits perfectly and the couple of heavier numbers don't feel out of place. One of those albums that once it is in your player doesn't get removed till the end of the last track. The string accompaniments on certain tracks are pleasing too. A real mood changer.

Sonics: The multichannel mix uses all 5.1 channels. The centre channel is mainly used for vocal reinforcement, good use of the LFE channel too. The rears carry a lot of the same instruments as the front to give a 'large' sound, some elements are biased towards the rear to give a very pleasing surround effect. I don't know what resolution this album was mastered at but it must significantly better than 16/44.1 (some of the drum/cymbal tracks are far too crisp for a start). This is a good demonstration of how to do pop/rock in 5.1, no gimmicky overuse of surround and replacing the usual over compressed stereo mastering with a good wrap around 'large' sound. Echo label: more of the same please :)

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no