add to wish list | library

17 of 17 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
Note: The high resolution content is Blu-ray Audio only.
  A&M Records -
  Bryan Adams: Reckless
  Bryan Adams
Track listing:
  1. One Night Love Affair (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
2. She's Only Happy when She's Dancin' (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
3. Run to You (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
4. Heaven (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
5. Somebody (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
6. Summer of '69 (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
7. Kids Wanna Rock (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
8. It's Only Love (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
9. Long Gone (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
10. Ain't Gonna Cry (Blu-Ray Stereo 2014 Remaster)
11. Let Me Down Easy (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
12. Teacher, Teacher (Bonus Track, Unreleased)
13. The Boy’s Night Out (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
14. Draw the Line (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
15. Play to Win (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
16. Too Hot to Handle (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
17. Reckless (Bonus Track, Previously Unreleased)
18. One Night Love Affair (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
19. She's Only Happy when She's Dancin' (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
20. Run to You (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
21. Heaven (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
22. Somebody (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
23. Summer of '69 (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
24. Kids Wanna Rock (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
25. It's Only Love (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
26. Long Gone (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
27. Ain't Gonna Cry (Bob Clearmountain 5.1 Mix)
  Single Layer
Recording type:
Recording info:
  2.0 LPCM 24bit/96kHz
5.1 Dolby TrueHD 24bit/96kHz
5.1 DTS HD MA 24bit/96kHz

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Submitted by LizardKing
Related titles: 3

Reviews: 2

Review by Marpow November 27, 2014 (6 of 7 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Bryan Adams: Reckless 2014 Blu Ray Audio Remaster

All you need to know is I cranked the volume on the 5.1 mix of "Somebody" and the neighbors all came out into the street and started to dance.

I know this disc all to well and have seen Bryan once at the Cow Palace sometime in the 80's

Performance: Bryan Adams 4th studio release in 1984. Yet another iconic 80's big sound. Whereas Simple Minds and Tears for Fears slide the big sound towards the synth's Bryan slides the big sound towards the guitars. This is an almost all hits disc and many MTV videos came off of this recording. Bryan's band is straight forward modern rock. Great performance and this disc will have me further listening for years to come.

I am not going to try a million audiophile adjectives to explain.

Stereo Sonics: If you do not have multi channel speaker system, fear not, this stereo version is absolutely fantastic and goes beyond the realm of the stereo (right/left-sub) and fills the room fantastic. There is a part of me that loves this stereo mix. I listened to in the DTS HD 2.0 version and would be happy even without the 5.1 option.

Note: all 3 audio options are 24bit/96Khz. In all honesty it is really hard to tell the difference of the 3 audio options. I did notice some minor differences which I will explain. I am running all HDMI outs and my system is running very well right now.

Multichannel Sonics: I am giving it a 5 but there where some small (tiny) items. First, mind blowing good remaster, loved it. Mostly front loaded and maybe 1 or 2 gimmicks, actually I wouldn't have minded a few more. A perfect 5.1 job except these little things that maybe bugged me for a second but I didn't stay focused on them. The rear right had the job of the ambient keyboard and sometimes they would fade out a hair too much. Bryan's vocals where always center channel speaker and IF the band backed off too much, his vocals where too much, but of course this never happend that much or mattered. The stereo version, his vocals are blended and you never get that too much center speaker. The 5.1 audio is 100% perfect, lets just call it perfect and not dwell on too much critique. I listened to the PCM version which was a little bright and my center channel notes seemed more noticeable in this audio option. In the end I preferred the Dolby Tru HD as it seemed to bring the front stage together a little bit more.

Additional Stereo Tracks: Are only on the stereo version, they did not really do anything for me, they are demos and sounded like demos, where the instrumentation and vocals did not seem to be a finished product.

Packaging: HFPA plastic Blu Ray case. Paper mini booklet, some photos, mostly lyrics and basic recording and 2014 reissue info. Two downloadable vouchers included.

On Screen Menu: Perfect and easy, shows name of track playing where as some of the earlier HFPA did not do this. Certainly a no brainer if you compare to the 5.1's of Yes.

I love it, you should by it.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Discspinner November 27, 2014 (5 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
The sound in multichannel and stereo is very good. MCH bass is a tad light but from midrange and higher it's great. It's not an aggressive mix with the rear channels proving a nice fill to the mostly frontal emphasis. Stereo seems to have better bass. Both versions provide great clarity. I personally feel some fatigue listening to this, while there is plenty of detail, it's all at the same volume. Perhaps that is why the bass seems a little buried. I found myself turning down the MCH version for better results.

I was never a fan of Bryan Adams so I am surprised how much I like this.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no