add to wish list | library


20 of 25 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Celine Dion: All The Way, A Decade Of Song

start discussion

Reviews: 8
add review

Review by Tom April 14, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I bought this for my wife, but I like it. With 16 selections, its a good value, all selections are good to excellent performances, and it's recorded quite well. No surprises here.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by petermwilson August 14, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Hi,
Actually, I got a big surprise.
Bought it for my wife Also and was miffed that the jewel case stated that it was stereo only.
Didn't even open it for a while. When I did and threw it in the machine was amazed to hear sound coming out of all speakers.
I took the disc out of the machine and sure enough in very small print was rhe mltich identification.
Does that make my package a collectors item and worth a fortune??

Peter m.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by fastal February 23, 2004 (7 of 7 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is a great disc. I was not a Celine Dion fan but am now. I had in the back of my mind to pick-up a Celine Dion disc for some time and when I bought my SACD player I went to Best Buy and browsed their limited selection of SACDs and found this one.

The recording quality if excellent and the multichannel mix is very good.

Bottom Line: A great disc with many familiar songs sure to impress both you and your friends.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lmfpjj March 19, 2004 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I bougth this SACD as very first SACDs I ever purchased.
This SACD has avery solid sonics and sounds. Definetely worth while buying this record, and you can enjoy real multichannel sounds.
In some songs bass sound is too heavy compared to other songs (subwoofer starts to crack!). This is not disturbing however since the overall sonics is better than average once you set decent parameters to your receiver.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by PureAudio August 24, 2005 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This disc can be divided in 2 parts. The first half contains most of her popular songs and the second half are more ballads. The entire disc shows what a great artist Celine is. I'm not a fan but this just sounds great. My favorite half is the latter with the ballads. The duet with Frank Sinatra for examlple (All the way) is excellent.

The SACD-MC mis is done good. The pop songs are mixed slightly agressive with more use of surrounds than fits my taste. But it definatly fits the material. The second half is more mellow with great ambiance and separation. The songs are all clear and the tone balance is right.

PRO: Great SACD experience, fine artist.
CON: I'd like more ballads on this disc

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by StyleAndEntertainmen April 29, 2006 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Yet another review by someone who is not a Celine Dion fan. Even so, this is a really great sounding album wiht lots of songs you'll recognize and enjoy. I can't imagine there is a better intro to Celine CD out there given the selection and the high quality sound. The 5.1 mix is good with very wide and smooth dynamic range. The bass is tight and supports the music well. The highs may be a bit rolled off, but you really have to strain to notice it. But you bought the album for the midrange and Celine has a beautiful crystal clear voice and you'll certainly appreciate it by the end of this disc. Some of the ballads are close miked, which I don't care for, but it certainly works for Jacintha :) There are several duets and they are well done, with lots of emotion.

The mch mix is not aggressive, but you'll know it there. Don't worry, the vocals are always front and center. Of course, there are many songs and the quality and mix of each does vary. That said, the consistency is remarkably good for a compilation album.

In summary, I am surprised how much I enjoy this album. My wife is surprised, too. Heck, even my girls like it for the Beauty and the Beast rendiiton. Just goes to show you this album has wide appeal and you really can't go wrong with this one.

Recommended

StyleAndEntertainment

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Elliotdurand August 3, 2008 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Even if you're not a Celine Dion's fan but still you appreciate her voice, this is a must have. The song selection is great, the sound superb! You can hear sounds never heard in a conventional CD. The sounds are very well articulated throughout the speakers with crisp clear, life-like sound. You really are submerged into the recording studio detecting every instrument and the feeling of space. It is a shame that due to piracy SA-CDs have not replaced CDs it is a breath taking sound experience that is worth paying for. Hopefully more record companies gradually release SA-CDs to upgrade the sound quality.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Ferrarimon March 3, 2010 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Big disapointment because I received a Japanese import... that is only in Stereo. No Multi channel on this SACD.... For the rest.. Great music, great singer, great sound !!!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no