add to wish list | library


17 of 23 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

CDJapan

Reviews: Rolling Stones: Let It Bleed

join discussion

Reviews: 6
add review

Review by Tingman July 29, 2010 (3 of 8 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Having come to the SACD party later than I would have liked, I missed getting the domestic version of Let It Bleed, and always got outbid on ebay whenever I made an attempt to pick it up. This and Sticky Fingers are my two favorite Stones recordings, so when I had the chance to preorder the SHM SACD, I jumped at it.

Given that I do not own the domestic SACD, I can't say how it compares to it. What I can say is that I have never heard these songs with such clarity. The limitations of the disc are limitations of the recording process used in capturing these performances. The first cut is the classic "Gimme Shelter" and I swear the guitars and Jagger's voice ring clearer here than on my SACD of Hot Rocks. The demonstration cut, however, is "Love in Vain". The acoustic guitar does not sound like a recording - it sounds like Keith is in my room playing. It is just wonderful. Again, the domestic version of Let It Bleed might sound just as good; I can't speak to that, but this is one great-sounding Stones SACD.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Tim-sacd October 23, 2010 (2 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I don't own the original ABKCO-sacd. But this one sounds extremely good to me. Clear, crisp and full of detail. I know many people are sceptical about these new Japanese shm-sacd's, but they all sound from good to perfect. Judge with your own ears, I'm sure most of you will like them. And no, I don't work for Universal Japan ;)

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by touwell November 26, 2010 (8 of 13 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Believe me , this SHM-SACD version is a mistake. I do have the original SACD, I bought that one when it was released in 2002. I ordered my copy in the US. Initial US copies were either manufactured in Germany or Japan. They both had the US catalogue number. I compared my original Japan made copy to the 2010 SHM-SACD copy , which was only manufactured in Japan. This new edition sounds noisy, blurry and seems to have a lot of compresssion. The original 2002 US version has clarity, and is sounding very quiet and honest.
The new edition seems to have too much information on the disc which cannot find its way to the speakers.
Don't forget that Let It Bleed which was released in 1969 had a very dark sounding mix with a good but not spectacular channel separation.Playing the vinyl album in stereo or mono [ I own both version] shows that Jagger's voice is sometimes almost drowning in the mix. The Japan pressed US edition comes close to that analog sound and is therefore preferred.
Beggars Banquet was also to be released as a SHM-SACD by Universal Japan in October 2010, but has been post-phoned to December 2010. I believe this is a sign that there is something wrong with the recording process.
Let It Bleed was released as an SACD in Europe, the US and Japan. European copies were mostly pressed in Germany, US copies were pressed in Japan or Germany, and Japanese copies were made in Japan. I have never seen US pressed copies of this particular SACD and don't know if they exist.
Catalogue numbers: US version 18771-9904-2; look out for this edition , pressed in Japan 2002.
Universal Japan Edition: 04228823032-8,UIGY-7017 [ 2002]good version, but not as good as the one mentioned above.

2010 SHM-SACD : UIGY-9021 ; I had high hopes, but I never play it because it sounds awful.Packaging and documentation is wonderful.Avoid!

I use a Marantz SA7S1 to play my SACD's.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by cheese_and_chocolate July 27, 2011 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I have a question to review of touwell about SACD Let It Bleed SACD edition: are you absolutely sure that this SACD, pressed in Japan 2002 has catalogue number 18771-9904-2 AND NOT 18771-9004-2 Made in Japan?! ARE YOU SURE WITH THAT NUMBER, wasn't it a typo with the "9"? I can find this 18771-9904-2 nowhere in the net, when I give it in it comes out your text from SA-CD.net only?!

Indeed all SACDs were either pressed in Japan or Germany (discs only) covers came from local printing companies. You can find some discs made in US and EU from later, but the 2002 1st pressings were manufactured in Japan and Germany only.

I bought all 22 titles in autumn 2002 from amazon.com and was lucky to receive 11 titles with Japan pressed discs and 11 titles with Germany pressed discs, among the japanese ones are Hot Rocks1 with 2 discs and Single Collection w/3 discs, and I'm now replacing the german ones by japan discs in ebay.

The Japan discs have a finer printed surface and the tiny letters are better to read, as far as sound is concerned the japanese have a bit more warmth in overall sound.

I also compared Let It Bleed 18771-9004-2 with 04228823032-8 UIGY 7017, both discs printed in Japan, and if you listen beginning of Monkey Man I prefer the sound of 04228823032-8 UIGY 7017, the midtones are a bit stronger, 18771-9004-2 is a bit too much in the highs.

Compared to the SHM-CD of Let It Bleed, the SACD has more warmth and better overall sound and timbre, SHM-CD sound great but for a recording made in 1969 SHM-CD is too crisp and clear, and I also hear little compressed parts throughout the songs with SHM-CD, which is not on SACD.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Sergey November 21, 2011 (3 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Universal makes no secret that the record was made ABKKO. The most important thing that this album sounds just delightful. Excellent writing, the advantage of SHM and a special coating ...... all drive there. Legibility, drive, bass and guitar parts that are simply breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Marpow September 25, 2014 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Rolling Stones Let It Bleed 2002 SHM SACD 2 channel, stereo only.
This is one of 3 Stones discs that I know intimately. In 69 my dad took me to record store to purchase Let it Bleed. I have owned every version since. This is a 2002 issue that I am very happy to own. Micks voice always in center and solos come to center. This 2 channel stereo only disc is good enough for me. I will not need another version. Packaging is not the little boxes that I like but is very good and well protected. It is gate fold, original LP was not. Has a photo of the Stones (not on original album as it was not gate fold), nice track notes, who played what instrument, etc. I never knew Brian Jones was on two tracks. Mick Taylor's debut album. A couple minor notes/sounds that I hadn't heard before, that was nice. I can't tell you how many times I starred at the front cover wanting a piece of that cake and pizza. Very happy with this disc, sounds fantastic, highly recommend. Liner notes, in English say "This recording should be played loud". I did.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no