add to wish list | library


21 of 25 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

amazon.ca New from  CDN$ 136.99
amazon.co.jp New from  ¥15,000
amazon.co.uk New from  £27.14
amazon.com New from  $82.38
 
amazon.fr Used from  EUR 84,22
amazon.it New from  EUR 34,55
 
 

Prices subject to change (details)

Reviews: Marvin Gaye: What's Going On

join discussion

Reviews: 7
add review

Review by analogue January 30, 2009 (9 of 9 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
If I could work my will Mobile Fidelity would produce all the new Sacd's when it comes to classic albums of the past. If they could only get their hands on more master tapes.
There's a reason What's going on is considered one of the greatest albums ever created. I am almost always pleased with the work Mobile Fidelity does with their Sacd's. And this new Marvin Gaye sacd is no exception. The words smooth and warm come to mind. Marvin'c voice is strong and clear, the music pushed ever so slightly to the back while still having a great presence.
I admire Mofi's ideology when it comes to presenting us with new titles to purchase.namely that they obtain the original master tapes and make faithful reproductions of them for us without remixing or trying to make them sound better than what is on the tape. This new Marvin Gaye title is one that I was waiting for and n ow that it's finally here it was worth the wait.

If you love this album I would strongly suggest.almost implore you to purchase it. You will be mesmerized for 9 tracks. Marvin will sing to you a message that is still as powerful today as it was in 1971.

Good work MOFI.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by gonzostick July 12, 2009 (6 of 9 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Classic album... a magical time travel experience... GET THIS!

As per usual, MoFi has done lovely magic to get every bit of nuance out of the original master tapes. This is the best I have ever heard this album sound. My LP copy is so dead, compared to this.

I still remember buying MoFi LP's about 30 years ago, and I am still enchanted by the way the company and its engineers manage to get things out of older recordings.

DO NOT MISS!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by sacreviewer July 9, 2010 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
will simply reiterate analogue's review. the mix is a fine and true rendition of the warm sound one would have expected in vinyl (though I do not or have not owned in vinyl), a joy to listen to and one that leaves you with the urge to play it again, which to me is the ultimate test of sonic quality, putting all measurements aside

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lampertb January 28, 2011 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Best definition and separation of instruments that I have heard on a recording... period. This release is outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Quint June 22, 2011 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I’ve long admired Mobile Fidelity for their dedication to sound quality. Not all of their efforts have been successful, but the vast majority have. And their work on “What’s Going On” is no exception. One of the most important records of the 20th century has finally been given a sonic makeover worthy of its artistic brilliance. The sound is warm and buttery smooth, but gets rough when Marvin gets rough, as it should be. The soundstage is as big as your walls will allow, and little details in the mix pop out at every turn. Everything on that master tape has been captured here, and the only limitation is your sound system. You can really sink into the music on this MFSL pressing. When your muscles fully relax and you start grooving, with no sense of tension whatsoever, but able to hear every detail, you know you have a good pressing. This MFSL is such a pressing. Bravo!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Blu Falcon July 2, 2011 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This classic has been reissued so many times I hardly know where to begin, and I've heard most if not all of them (listening to it right now). I can only say that the MoFi SACD is most likely the best this album will sound. What MoFi brings to the table is subtle warmth and depth that rivals that of the best vinyl releases. This particular mastering is ultra smooth, with good stereo separation and incredible dynamic range with no hint of compression. Every subtle detail of the original recording is revealed. Those who say otherwise either A) need to have their hearing aid batteries replaced or B) have bootleg eardrums made in China. If you could only have one version of this release, this should be the one. This review was written under the influence of Lucid Absinthe, so you know there is truth to this testament. Buy with confidence before it goes out of print and your kicking yourself in the ass for missing out and paying ridiculous prices on ebay.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pvcmusiclover April 11, 2012
Performance:   Sonics:
No questions, this probably one of the best albums ever recorded.

Soncially, you get that characteristic MFSL sound - very accurate/tight sound. Compared to a previous CD issue, the bass is definitely improved (tighter, more extended). My one complaint is that MFSL refuses to use an equalizer. On this album, the treble is just a bit recessed, resulting in a veiling of the sound. The bass, for once, is actually a tad bit over bearing. On my 88.2/24 rips, I will definitely be working out a re-EQ job.

Sorry to rant and rave, but if a company is going to release albums for a premium, they better darn well get the sound right.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no