add to wish list | library

12 of 12 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Reviews: Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto, Bruch: Scottish Fantasy - Grumiaux

Reviews: 2

Review by sergio July 7, 2005 (2 of 12 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
A fantastic issue in every way.NOT TO BE MISSED

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Oscar August 30, 2005 (7 of 8 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
The Tchaikovsky pieces are the winners here. Arthur Grumiaux was an aristocrat among violin players, his tone always beautiful and elegant, with no exagerations or un-musical gestures.
Thus, his rendition of the Tchaikovsky concerto, that so often can sound mannered, is very spontaneous and has a unique "flowing " quality. One of the great interpretations available.

THe Bruch is also played with great tone and finesse, but I missed some more verve in the conducting of the piece.
Anyhow, a wortwhile disc. And what can I say about the Pentatone sound ? Great as usual. These old recordings receive a loving reprocessing and they sound as new.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no